The Grand Slam is an annual event in tennis with four major tournaments. The Grand Slam tournaments offer most prize money, ranking points, media and public attention, best professional competitors and best tennis pitches. The four championships include:

1. The Australian open held in mid-January
2. The French Open held in May and June
3. Wimbledon in July
4. US Open in August and September

Each tournament takes place in two weeks duration. The championships pitch are either clay, hard courts, or grass. The French Open is on a clay court, the U.S and the Australian are played in hard courts while Wimbledon is on grass.

The Wimbledon is the oldest founded in 1877. Then followed by the US, the French and the Australian in the year 1881, 1891, 1905 respectively. The Wimbledon remained to be the most major tournament until 1924-25 when they all four become major Grand Slam tournaments.

Terms in the Grand Slam Championships

The Grand Slam tournaments host the following competitions; gentlemen and ladies singles; men’s, women’s, and mixed doubles.

  • The term “Grand Slam” refers to the achievement of winning all competition during a single season of the Grand Slam.
  • “Non-Calendar Year Grand Slam” refers to winning consecutive tournaments but in a different year. “Career Grand Slam” is another term that refers to winning any four major tournaments in the whole playing career.
  • “Golden Grand Slam” refers to winning the gold medal in summer Olympic Games in addition to winning all four majors in one calendar year. It is mostly known as “Golden Slam.”

Additionally, winning ATP Finals for men and WTA Finals for women in the Year-End Championships in the same period is called a “Super Slam.” The “boxed set” is all majors in all discipline (singles, doubles and mixed). No player has ever achieved boxed set (winning all events in one calendar year), but three women have achieved “career boxed set.”

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This